top of page
  • woodhedwiga

That's it Hedwiga, no more ducks!

Updated: May 5, 2021

I have a problem. I’ve become obsessed with the subject of a donut addicted duck. It all started when I needed an unimportant background detail in a 3d modeled room. Since I had a donut on a table (donuts are a favorite meme of Blender 3d users) logic and storytelling dictates that the donut had to come from somewhere. I mean, the lady at the counter isn’t going to simply hand you a sticky pastry and send you on your way, it has a bag! After being bothered by logic for days, I caved in and immediately thought about two things: Sundays after church as a child (there were donuts), and a local donut shop. I created a design with a duck worshipping a spinkley ring in the sky and was oddly delighted. After that, the subject became something I used for learning new skills like importing svgs into my 3d software or figuring out how to record a speed drawing.

The problem is, I tend to obsess and overthink about things so the imaginary campaign refused to leave my mind. I’ve created three separate designs for this, THREE. I don’t like to think of anything as worthless but there are only three outcomes of my actions: One, absolutely nothing, it’s an entertaining design but very few people would find use of this. Two, donut shop notices I’m lowkey trying to get their attention and hires me for work. Three donut shop notices my work and kindly asks me to stop. What I do know is I can’t be spending my time with these ducks any longer without making anything off of them. I’m writing this blog as a message to both myself, and to everyone, no more ducks with donuts. I do however want to explain the designs I’ve currently created since the idea is fire.


The first design that sparked my madness within. I took maybe an hour on this with maybe 15 minutes of concept. Obviously not putting too much thought into it. Even if it's not an actual swear, such things are still a little too exciting for the public. It was removed in later iterations.




I wanted to test bringing svg files into blender and then do my thing. By that I mean, leveling, color management, lighting, and positioning. I was amazed how simple the process was and how pleasing the renders were. This has been an art style I've come back to several times and I'm not stopping anytime soon.



This is my favorite, I love that closeness to perfection, the light around the donut and the darkness clouding most of the bird's shape. I wanted to have emphasis on the close interaction between the beak and donut. In test renders of this with more even lighting, I found it less emotional, hard to balance, and flat.


I had it in my mind that I needed to show the people how I make things. With the business started, I need more content to connect with the public. What better way than a speed art, and why not ask my audience what they would like me to make? What happened next was questionable decision making on my part. I gave people three options I knew I could do well, more duck art, (Hedwiga why do you do this?) a unicorn, or fashion illustration. I guess I kind of got what I asked for, not only did I get to make a unicorn, got to continue my duck and donut subject. It was after two days on this that I decided enough was enough. This wasn't an effective use of time. I even wanted to take it into blender to do the extruding trick again, this isn't completely finished in my head, but it must end now.



So what is the message I'm trying to tell in this art? I'm trying to explain the magical experience that is donuts. Waiting for them, searching, picking them out, don't forget the suspense as you take them to an eating location (wherever that may be) and most importantly, biting them. We don't eat donuts because they're good for us, we do it for the experience. What is that experience? Delight to the senses, the smell, color, feel is all cosmic joy and one that has left sweet memories in all our lives.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page